West Indies World Cup squad announced

Cricket West Indies today announced the 15-man squad for the 2019 ICC Cricket World Cup from May 30 to July 14, 2019 in England and Wales.

Opening batsman Chris Gayle is the most experienced player in the side in what could be his fifth and final World Cup, but the majority of players will be newcomers.

Andre Russell, who has been tearing up the Indian Premier League, pacer Kemar Roach and batsman Darren Bravo will all be in their third World Cup, while it will be the second for captain Jason Holder and Sheldon Cottrell.

Chris Gayle is 39 but he has been in spectacular form for Kings XI Punjab in the 2019 Indian Premier League. He has scored 444 runs including 4 fifties from 10 matches at a strike-rate of 162.04. Andre Russell has hit 392 runs for Kolkata Knight Riders in the 2019 IPL and has the highest strike-rate this season: 217.77.

Explosive batsman Shimron Hetmyer will be stepping up to the senior level after captaining the West Indies team to victory in the Under-19 World Cup in 2016.

Squad: Jason Holder (Captain), Andre Russell, Ashley Nurse, Carlos Brathwaite, Chris Gayle, Darren Bravo, Evin Lewis, Fabian Allen, Kemar Roach, Nicholas Pooran, Oshane Thomas, Shai Hope, Shannon Gabriel, Sheldon Cottrell and Shimron Hetmyer.

One Comment